Waiting Time Penalties: Ignorance of the Law Won't Get You Off the Hook

July 26, 2018 | From HRCalifornia Extra

Employers in California can be penalized if they fail to timely pay an employee who quits or is terminated. These penalties are referred to as “waiting time” penalties. Labor Code section 203 states that if an employer “willfully” fails to pay all wages due to an employee at the time of termination (or within 72 hours if the employee quits without notice), the employer owes that employee one day’s pay for every day that the final paycheck is late, up to 30 days.​

  • ​​

    Preview​

    This premium content is for our members. For immediate access, join online or by phone at (800) 649-4921. Or Start a Free Trial Now for 15 days.

    Already a Member? Sign In Below.

Sign In
Remember Email