Physical Presence Not Required to 'Report' to Work, Court Finds

March 21, 2019 | From HRCalifornia Extra

by Erika Pickles, J.D.; Employment Law Counsel/HR Adviser

When California employers require a nonexempt employee to report for work but don't provide that employee with at least half of the employee's scheduled shift, the employee is owed reporting time pay. This requirement, which is contained in most of the Wage Orders issued by the Industrial Welfare Commission (IWC), has been in place for more than 70 years.

Until just recently, reporting time pay was required only when an employee actually showed up to the worksite. However, a recent case has significantly expanded the reporting time pay requirement to apply even if an employee doesn't physically report for work.

  • ​​

    Preview​

    This premium content is for our members. For immediate access, join online or by phone at (800) 649-4921. Or Start a Free Trial Now for 15 days.

    Already a Member? Sign In Below.

Sign In
Remember Email