Top Questions About California's 2021 COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave

April 22, 2021 | From HRCalifornia Extra

by Bianca N. Saad, J.D.; Employment Law Counsel/Subject Matter Expert, CalChamber

On March 29, 2021, California’s 2021 COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave law (SB 95) took effect; it applies to employers with more than 25 employees, contains several qualifying COVID-19-related reasons for which leave can be taken and provides a fresh bank of up to 80 hours of paid leave — which employees could begin using on March 29, 2021 (and retroactively from January 1, 2021). The COVID-19 supplemental paid sick leave (COVID-19 SPSL) entitlement is in effect through September 30, 2021.

The Department of Industrial Relations (DIR), better known as the Labor Commissioner’s office, has published 2021 COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave FAQs regarding the law’s requirements, covering topics such as calculating leave, retroactive payment and enforcement, to name just a few. But as employers have been rolling out the new leave and getting acclimated to the supplemental paid sick leave requirements, several additional questions continue to arise. Read on for some of the more common questions received on the CalChamber Labor Law Helpline.

  • ​​

    Preview​

    This premium content is for our members. For immediate access, join online or by phone at (800) 649-4921. Or Start a Free Trial Now for 15 days.

    Already a Member? Sign In Below.

Sign In
Remember Email