State law prohibits discrimination on the basis of marital status. Federal law does not prohibit discrimination on the basis of marital status, though some factual situations may be challenged as sex discrimination. FEHA defines marital status as an individual’s state of:

  • Marriage
  • Nonmarriage
  • Divorce or dissolution
  • Separation
  • Widowhood
  • Annulment
  • Other marital status1
  • ​​


    This premium content is for our members. For immediate access, join online or by phone at 800-331-8877. Or Start a Free Trial Now for 7 days.

    Already a Member? Sign In Below.

Sign In
Remember Email