• Effective January 1, 2020, California’s minimum wage is $13 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees and $12 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.

The federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. When state and federal law differ, you must comply with the more restrictive requirement. California state minimum wage is higher, so that is the rate that you must pay employees in California.

Read about 2020 minimum wage increases.

  • ​​

    Preview​

    This premium content is for our members. For immediate access, join online or by phone at (800) 649-4921. Or Start a Free Trial Now for 15 days.

    Already a Member? Sign In Below.

Sign In
Remember Email