California Supreme Court Declines to Impose Penalties on Employer Who Had Good Faith Belief in Compliance

May 23, 2024 | From HRCalifornia Extra

by Michelle Galbraith, J.D.; Employment Law Expert, CalChamber

Employers are required to provide employees with an itemized wage statement every pay period showing a variety of employment-related information, including gross and net wages earned, per Labor Code section 226. And employers who fail to do so are subject to monetary penalties: $50 for the pay period in which the initial violation occurs, and $100 per employee for each subsequent violation, up to $4,000, plus attorney’s fees. 

  • ​​


    This premium content is for our members. For immediate access, join online or by phone at 800-331-8877. Or Start a Free Trial Now for 7 days.

    Already a Member? Sign In Below.

Sign In
Remember Email